current | archives | profile | Noah & Jaidyn | Chase | Hailey | email | notes | host | image | design

Getting the Ring
2001-12-17, 9:12 p.m.

My hubby has been a sweetie tonight. I got a back rub, he cleaned up after dinner and did the laundry! Brownie points for Brian! Now he is almost asleep on the couch. Poor thing!

If figured I would tell you about the night we got engaged, since I am going through the stories about me and Bri. Its so weird how all of these memories keep coming up. I think because I have been hearing from old friends...

It was March 8, 1997 (a year after we met, to the day) Bri took me to the fair where we met. We were walking around and goofing off, and one of Brian's cousins asked were it was. I asked where what was and they didn't anwser made some excuse and ran off. I asked Bri what they were talking about and he said nothing but was upset.

We ended up leaving the fair early because he figured I already knew what was being planned. I was clueless though!

So we left the fair and got food from a fast food place (jack in the box) and were sitting in his truck in my drive way eating. A song came on and the line in it saied something about Always loving , and Brian asked me if I would always love him. I said of course and he kissed me. When we broke the kiss he had a ring in his hand and told me he loved me and asked me to marry him! It was too sweet. I cried and kept staring at the ring. It was a few weeks before I turned 18 and he was 17.

He said it wasn't what he had planned. He wanted to have the radio dj at the fair let him ask me on air, but his brother (who his parents told because they were no happy with this decision) had told everyone what was being planned. SO he asked me in the truck which was cool anyway!!

We had set a date of June 8, 1998, but as you can tell by our Sept 5 1998 date it didn't work out right. We got pregnant with Noah in Nov of 1997, Bri didn't graduate until 1998 and I didn't want to get married and have to live with his parents until he graduated. So we waited until after Noah was born, and married on Sept 5 with Noah being 3 weeks old....

It all worked out for the best for us, I beleive. I would have liked to have been married before he was born, but I also didn't want get married while Bri was in high school , or when I was about 8 months pregnant either...

So that was the day I became engaged to my best friend, even if I don't always agree with him or like him. I do always love him with all my heart..

Now I am going to go make my love go to bed, the bed is more comfortable then the couch ( okay love seat actually)

last - next